Do I Have to Wear All White in a Kundalini Yoga Class? by Cate Baily

March 12, 2012 § 2 Comments

The short answer is no. You can wear any clothing that’s easy for you to move in and that makes you feel comfortable. It’s completely your choice. There are no requirements in yoga. There are only recommendations.

So why is wearing white recommended? Yogi Bhajan, the man who brought Kundalini yoga to the West, taught that wearing white natural fabrics expands one’s auric radiance. I’ve also heard that he wanted his teachers to wear white so they would be identifiable as people who had information to heal those in need. Others have said that wearing white turns your outfit into a mindfulness practice because you’re more likely to take great care with white clothes and less likely to wipe wet or sticky hands on yourself.

Personally, I resisted wearing all white until just recently. I didn’t like the idea of someone telling me what to wear. And, I’ve been conditioned to wear dark, slenderizing clothing — especially yoga pants. But, as I’ve begun to participate in this aspect of the practice, there’s been a lesson in it for me. Since adolescence, I’ve believed that I should dress to minimize and hide flaws in my body. In wearing all white, I’m forced to confront one of the core beliefs of Kundalini Yoga: I am okay exactly as I am.

So, wearing white to class is just a suggestion. If you’d like to try it, it may give back to you. If you don’t want to try it (as I didn’t for nearly 15 years), that’s perfectly fine. Don’t think if you’re in black or hot pink, you’ll be turned away. We’d love to have you come and practice with us at AquarianYoga, however you’re clad.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Do I Have to Wear All White in a Kundalini Yoga Class? by Cate Baily

  • Definitely, nobody will be turned away beacause of the color of your clothes. Wearing white is a suggestion,as Cate precisely mentioned above. It is a gift contained in the technology of Kundalini Yoga. “Spin a wheel with all colors and you’ll see white” said our teacher Yogiji. White contains all colors. So, give it a try, and know by experience what dressing in white can do for you and the ones around you. Then, please share your experience here.

  • kathylivingston says:

    I resisted wearing white for a while, too. But once I made the switch I really liked it. I find it puts me in a much better mood than constantly dressing in black as I used to. Great post, Cate!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Do I Have to Wear All White in a Kundalini Yoga Class? by Cate Baily at AquarianBlog.

meta

