A Beautiful Day! Welcoming 2012 at AquarianYoga

January 1, 2012 § 1 Comment

by Kathy Livingston

If you’ve been in Akalsukh’s Kundalini yoga classes, no doubt you’ve heard the beautiful song, Beautiful Day from the album “Livelight” by the group Aykanna (you can purchase this CD at AquarianYoga in the Golden Room Marketplace). Akalsukh often plays this track at the beginning of class as we close our eyes and think about our positive intentions. For me, the song embraces a perfect approach to life: positive, hopeful, and trusting. With this attitude I hope that we will also start 2012, making it a year full of beautiful days.

We certainly started the New Year out on a beautiful note at AquarianYoga. Our New Year’s celebration was a great success! We danced, chanted, and meditated our way into the New Year, enjoyed the spirit of community, and shared a delicious potluck meal together (thank you Karolina, for that awesome kitcheri!). We listened to the beautiful music of Sat Nam artist Harnam Singh & Band. We were surrounded by friendship and love as we basked in the ever-evolving beauty of our new center.

Early morning sadhana with Harnam & Band.

Celebrating the New Year at AquarianYoga.

In the morning we rose at 4:30 for group sadhana, the first sadhana of the New Year. If you haven’t been to an early  morning sadhana yet, please put it on your calendar for 2012.  (Stay tuned for future dates.) The Aquarian Sadhana includes reciting a Sikh prayer called Japji in Gurmukhi (don’t worry—there’s a print-out!), followed by a series of beautiful Aquarian Mantras. There is nothing quite like rising in the amrit vela (the two and a half hours before the rising of the sun) to join with others in this uplifting spiritual practice.

In case you haven’t heard the song Beautiful Day, I’m including the words below. As Akaluskh often says in class, breathe the words in and out as you meditate on them, making them your own. They will help you set a beautiful intention for the New Year ahead. May 2012 bring you the beauty of many blessings. Sat Nam!                

Beautiful Day

by Aykanna

Today must be the most

Beautiful day I ever lived

Waves are coming in

But I am sitting still

There ain’t nothing I want for

I got everything that I need

So my conclusion is

It’s the most beautiful day that I ever lived.

This special morning

Is the most fabulous morning I see

Woke up in the sunshine

Made myself a cup of tea

Grandpa kissed by forehead

Grateful for another day

Such simple harmony to me

It’s the Universe’s way

Today must be the most

Beautiful day I ever lived

Waves are coming in

But I am sitting still

There ain’t nothing I want for

I got everything that I need

So my conclusion is

It’s the most beautiful day that I ever lived

In the noontime

I take a walk

Feeling all and all that I am

Flowing with the rivers of life

Trusting every woman, boy, girl, man

Cause I am flowers

I am sun, I am everything that you see

Living in perfect harmony

In a beautiful world made for me.

Today must be the most

Beautiful day I ever lived

Waves are coming in

But I am sitting still

There ain’t nothing that I want for

I got everything that I need

So my conclusion is

It’s the most beautiful day that I ever lived.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to A Beautiful Day! Welcoming 2012 at AquarianYoga

  • catebaily says:

    Yes! Such a beautiful way to begin the New Year. I loved having the live music during sadhana. Harnam’s voice and rhythms made it an even more special experience. Thanks to Akalsukh for putting this event together and to everyone who shared in such a positive new beginning.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Beautiful Day! Welcoming 2012 at AquarianYoga at AquarianBlog.

meta

